On the Edge of Panic

Adjuncting is a horrible way to live,
Especially for a long time.
If you do it to make a few extra bucks,
It’s not so bad if plans fall through.
But for some of us, it’s our only source of work.
Putting together a class here or there,
Juggling multiple schools to schedule.
No benefits, low pay, crazy hours.
The late hours are fine for me,
But the instability is a constant threat.
Lose a couple of classes and the lifeline disappears.
The fear and panic set in.
Am I gonna end up sleeping in my car?
Where can I get more work to protect myself?
And then you are trapped.
Work so hard just to get by.
There is no time left in the day to think beyond
The next round of scheduling.
How do you improve? Do school or research to escape?
When I started, they said just pay your dues, get experience,
Then you’d get on full time and it would be worth it.
That was two decades ago.
I need out, before it breaks me.
I’ve been on the edge of destitution for too long.
The cliff is all too real.
And it’s coming.

Leave a comment